Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Magnet not linking to tixati

by Guest on 2014/09/01 05:08:49 PM    
When I am using a torrent site, and I click on the magnet nothing is happening. This was working fine two days ago, it was linking just fine, but now nothing. I have not done anything or made any changes. Is there any suggestions? Please don't make answer too technical as I am just learning.
by Guest on 2014/09/01 10:47:34 PM    
What web browser are you using?  Firefox/Chrome/IE etc.

Tixati checks for the magnet/torrent association when it starts up, and should popup a warning if the operating system isn't using it as the default handler.  So it seems like this is something going on in your browser.

If you have Firefox, go to the Edit menu, then Preferences, then at the top click the Applications choice.  In the "Content-Type" column mine has "magnet" and then Action has "Use tixati" but you can change things right there if it doesn't.

I don't know how it works in the other browsers but someone else might be able to help...
by Guest on 2014/09/02 01:19:54 PM    
I am using Linux (Kubuntu 14.04) with the same result. I tried both Portable and Install versions of Tixati. File Types are set and Tixati opens if i click magnet in Chromium but the link doesn't get pasted in Tixati... even if it was already open. If i use KTorrent for example magnet links function as they should. Thank you for help.
by Guest on 2014/09/04 04:12:00 AM    
I was having this exact same problem with the most recent version of Tixati. I just re-installed version 1.97 and it's working perfectly now. I think it was a problem with 1.98, because not on 1.97 it's working perfectly
by mehdus on 2014/09/04 07:12:27 AM    
Edit the tixati.desktop file with a text editor and replace "%F" with "%U" in the line that starts with "Exec="