Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Iincreasing speeds in poor signal areas (new to Tixati)...

by Guest on 2014/06/12 03:15:46 AM    
Greetings,
I’m relatively new to the world of torrents, and definitely new to “Tixati”.  Tixati was found by a happy accident (prior client uTorrent).  After installing Tixati, I naturally tried to improve its speed through the tutorials.
It might be helpful to understand my situation, I live in a rural area of the Philippines.  My internet signal is poor at best, via a mobile Wi-Fi unit and a wireless signal with a local telecommunications ISP (i.e.: cellphone connection).
After utilizing the tutorials, my speed increased only slightly (8 to 10Kbs increased to 10 to 14 Kbs with 10 peers, with numerous pikes and valleys).  As you can see it takes days to download a 1080p film of average size 1.5 GB. continuing my quest to increase my speed, I happened upon <settings/Network/Connections> where I discovered the <Local IPv4 address (Blank by Default) was indeed blank.  I entered my Windows IP address <com prompt-ipconfig /al (locate your IPv4 address)> and my speed increased, to an average of 15Kbs with occasional valleys.  Which by my thinking is a significant improvement.
I’m still dealing with DHT issues, if I can figure them out and the community responds favorably to this report.  I’ll submit my findings regarding these problems.
Hopefully this will help other poor souls with similar situations.
by Stack on 2014/06/17 02:43:32 PM    
I'd suggest not downloading the 1080p version if you have only 5-15KBps download.

The best guide I've found on optimizing torrent clients is from Deluge; http://dev.deluge-torrent.org/wiki/UserGuide/BandwidthTweaking.  I'm not sure how relevant it is to your extremely low bandwidth but you might find it useful.