Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Doubts about Locations

by ParipeDeTriana on 2023/09/02 09:44:52 PM    
I am new to the use of Tixati and I have doubts about some concepts. In the general settings there is an option under Location to define "incomplete piece storage location". Is it possible to define a temporary folder per disk or category? I ask this because I have several disks where I download large files and if I concentrate all the temporary files on a single disk, in addition to the space occupied, when they are moved to the final folder, this process takes quite a long time if it is not on the same disk.

In the Categories options there are, in Local Files tab: Downloading and Seeding Location. What is the difference between these folders? In BitTorrent what you download in a folder is the same as what you share, so to my understanding both folders must always be the same.
by Guest on 2023/09/04 08:44:17 PM    
In this case, your guesses are not quite right.

Incomplete pieces setting is not for data that is currently being downloaded (it would be extremely slow to save it to a temporary file before saving to proper location, and in-memory disk cache exists to deal with that anyway). It's a location for pieces that belong to multiple files, some marked for download by the user, and some not. As torrent clients (using version 1 protocol) can only share and validate full pieces, downloading some file (assuming that you also want it to be seeded to others in full, and that its size isn't an exact multiple of piece size) makes them download all of its pieces, and the first one and the last one most likely have extra data that belongs to other files, some of which might not be needed. However, the data is needed, and has to be stored somewhere.