Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Donations; I would generously donate .. *if* ..

by mysternad on 2022/01/01 07:00:28 AM    
I'm an open-source dev and have made many, many freeware tools/programs/game-hacks for a few different communities.. The biggest / most widely used was being a developer on the Windower project for FinalFantasy XI Online, back in the day; Probably have several thousand hours into just that project alone, to say nothing of all the other projects I've been a part of.  
(Windower's also one of the ones I'm most proud of. Hacking one of the first true MMOs to circumvent the dev's forced full-screen mode, if you alt-tabbed the game would immediately crash.)

Anyway, tl;dr is that I'd be happy to donate, even on a monthly basis IF you were willing to open-source the project.  (ps; why not set up a patreon? I'd sub to it)

That's the only real drawback/flaw/complaint I have about Tixati, that it's NOT open-source.  It boasts being ad/spy-ware free, no malicious code, no telemetry or horsesh*t like that.  I started with BitTornado (still an awesome lightweight client), then uTorrent for a very short time, onto Deluge.. And Tixati for the last several years.  I REFUSE to use any other client

That said, I still recommend Tixati to every person I discuss torrenting with when I discover they're using any of the other cluttered sketchy clients (uTorrent, Transmission, Deluge, qBitTorrent, etc)
by Guest on 2022/01/01 12:49:46 PM    
I totally agree, many people are keeping away from Tixati just for the simple reason that they are open-source-freaks and Tixati doesn't have that magic word in it, nothing bad would happen if Tixati suddenly got open, maybe few half-assed forks which would be used by ten ppl at most lol but who cares? it's still tixati-based in the end

People are usually proud of the code they have written and want to show it off and improve it,