Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Server version?

by MJasonCarswell on 2020/03/18 09:06:32 AM    
IMO, every home should have their own server, just like they have a fridge and other appliances - rather than lazily trusting in the corporatocracy cloud.  Freedom of communication and information is critical.

In my experience every torrent client has limitations on how many torrents it can handle.

I'm not tech savvy enough to know the ins and outs of setting up my own server, etc, but, I would bother to try to learn if there was something that could meet me half way.

Copyright issues, aside, in this age of censorship, I would love to have a vast collections of content perpetually online for those who seek it.

I keep all my torrent files along with their torrented content so I'm ready on that front.

In addition to sharing thousands or maybe even millions of files (ie. books and images are smaller) I would want my content safe from corruption on SnapGrid or FreeNAS or something.  Open source is most definitely preferred, like Linux Mint.

There are other systems like IPFS that I hear good things about and being flexible enough to embrace their solutions might be great too.
by Guest on 2020/03/18 06:24:54 PM    
On Linux you can use VNC and your preferred window manager or desktop environment to run Fopnu/Tixati from there.

I recommend the LXqt desktop environment and TigerVNC server. You'll need to get a VPS (virtual private server) or a dedicated server. Please do not pick OpenVZ VPSes. Search for KVM or Xen VPS. If you're really interested in setting this up, please let me know and I'll make an outline or tutorial.

Do you want to rent the server from somewhere else or setup a server at home?
by Guest on 2020/03/20 08:18:28 AM    
Thanks for your response.