Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Tips for Saving Downloads after BSoD (Blue Screen of Death)

by Guest on 2016/05/21 03:13:46 AM    
Tixati is my fave torrent client.

BSoD (Blue Screen of Death) happens too often with Tixati.

It occurs mainly with huge multi Gig files mainly. The problem seems to be with handling Memeory Management & I/O handling.

Happens with all my PCs & laptops, even beastly ones with top end CPUs & masses of RAM & SSDs.

And I am a programmer with postgrad research in computing at a top Uni with a couple of decades of programming. So the guy who peppered me last time with odd questions (like he does to others) please please please do not bother again my friend. Do projects with hundred+ thousand lines of code first, then pester others here. Oh I forgot, you're not a programmer. It really drives away many from posting here to share. Many who would have good advice to give to me and others, I am sure.

Now the tips for recovering lost files from BSoD crashes.

# After reboot from BSoD, run Tixati
# Stop all downloads
# Start double clicking from smaller files, this will check files for that download
# Chances are for the biggest download it will crash. This you let it check last.
# When checking, stop all other downloads.
# After checking and it resuming download, stop it downloading before checking the next bigger download.
# Before checking the final you might want to stop all and restart Tixati. (This sometimes eradicates the need for checking all others after another BSoD)

# Now start double clicking the biggest download which keeps giving BSoD
# Stop after every 10% and restart checking. If you do not, chances are it will crash again with BSoD
# Once it reaches 100% & downloads resumes, you can restart the rest too
# It might be best to finish all others before downloading the biggest one

----------------------------------

Another Tip for resuming big files that do not check: