Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Newbie uploading question

by donut on 2016/04/22 11:18:11 PM    
Hi.

I think I know the answer, but wanted to be sure as I am, as the title suggests, a noob.

I've been torrenting for a couple of years but recently decided to actually care about what I do, so the question is :

Is it better to upload little to many people, or lots to a few people?

Before today I would upload to 1.3 ratio and someone might be getting 500k b/s out, and four or five people getting say 50k b/s out, but having reviewed my settings I am now uploading a large 47gig file to 16 or 20 people at around a steady 50k b/s out each.

Is that a better way to share my downloaded file?

I'll put my hands up and tell you that I was a fan of downloading a lot, so often had many I was trying to share to a good ratio, but now download a lot less and want to be sharing in the correct manner.

Thanks in advance.

donut.
by Bugmagnet on 2016/04/23 09:42:29 PM    
I think ...
... I know the answer, but wanted to be sure as I am, as the title suggests, a noob.

You are starting off right... by thinking.

Is it better to upload little to many people, or lots to a few people?

I am not sure there is a hard and fast rule that would apply all the time. If our goal is to help the dissemination of information, media we really can't know what the few who get a lot fast will then do with what they have downloaded. I used to download with torrents then share it on opennap and other p2p networks. That re-sharing never shows on any bittorrent ratio.