Help and Support
Ask a question, report a problem, request a feature...
<<  Back To Forum

Existing file with incorrect size what to do?

by Guest on 2013/08/25 05:33:05 PM    
Hello. I am not good at english so i would write much here :D Just trying to get some help how to dl torrent with this kind of problem. I hope someone can help me fix it. Thanks

"[17:32:25]  error: Existing file with incorrect size > D:\Downloads\somefile.exe"
by Guest on 2013/10/01 03:47:37 PM    
I'm getting this too.  On Transfers screen, several torrents display "Need to check" under "Progress" and "Existing file with incorrect size" under "Status" - they don't appear to be doing anything - no downloading or seeding.  I tried "Force Re-check" and that didn't fix it.  Also, clicking on the item and trying to "Start" it, but that doesn't help either.  Any ideas?  Do I need to run a chkdsk?  I found one of the problem children online, clicked the magnet link and added existing trackers to what was already running, but that also didn't help.  Could the problem be with the original seeder?  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!
by Pete on 2013/10/03 06:31:37 PM    
I had this problem once. I solved this by checking which file is the cause, renaming it and downloading again. If there are a lot of files with this error, maybe some software is modifying them when opened, for example audio player may automatically update metadata.
by Guest on 2013/10/03 08:40:40 PM    
I'll add my problem to this which seems to be recurring.  One long-running torrent all of a sudden came up with the need to check problem when no activity by me on tyhe disk had occurred.

 Previously I noted the file size problem when simply making a copy to watch elsewhere.  At that time I was able to retrieve a right size copy from a backup drive with the same Tixati program.